The women’s singles draw at the French Open continued to be unpredictable right from the start of the tournament. Just like last year, a new women’s singles champion will be crowned on Saturday when Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova meets the winner of Maria Sakkari and Barbora Krejcikova in the finals.
Sakkari, who had a tough draw in the lead up to semis, overpowered the likes of Elise Mertens, Sofia Kenin, and the defending champion, Iga Swiatek. With her powerful baseline game, the Greek player dismantled her opponents despite a three-set scare from Mertens in the third-round.
On the other hand, Barbora Krejcikova also stunned top players like Elina Svitolina, Sloane Stephens, and Coco Gauff before reaching the semis. With their valiant efforts in the initial round, both these players deserved to be in the semi-finals of Roland Garros.
Barbora Krejcikova lost a crucial point after a line call was ruled against her by the umpire at French Open
It was a roller-coaster ride with momentum shifted between the two players constantly. The match went down the wire with Sakkari serving at 7-8 down in the set, and also down a match point. When she landed a forehand right on the baseline, everyone thought it was out and even Krejciova began celebrating the same.
But, the umpire came and decided the ball landed in. Even though the hawkeye showed the ball landed out after the umpire’s decision.
The ball was in…
— Chris Evert (@ChrissieEvert) June 10, 2021
Legendary tennis player Evert felt that the ball landed in. A lot of tennis players and journalists also reacted over the line controversy and blamed the umpire for giving a wrong decision.
— Rennae Stubbs OLY (@rennaestubbs) June 10, 2021
After the call was ruled against Krejcikova, Sakkari took the opportunity to save the match point after an incredible first-serve.
Krejcikova thinks she’s won it – the umpire disagrees – point to be replayed …
Sakkari saves with a 1-2 punch! pic.twitter.com/1tUmGLKTJo
— The Tennis Podcast (@TennisPodcast) June 10, 2021
The discussion of hawk-eye on clay has long been pending with several players requesting tournament organizers to have hawk-eye during their events. But, a fair amount of people also believe that hawk-eye shouldn’t be used on clay-courts.
Hawkeye has disagreed with SO many line calls at the French Open this year, including many that both the player and chair umpire agreed on, so let’s not pretend like we know for a fact that call was wrong, folks.
— Ben Rothenberg (@BenRothenberg) June 10, 2021
Even Andy Murray said that it was a brutal call from the umpire.
That is an absolutely brutal error from the umpire
— Andy Murray (@andy_murray) June 10, 2021
Despite this discouragement, the Czech player Barbora Krejcikova managed to convert her fifth match point and reached her first grand slam final at the French Open this year.