Read Instagram DMs without the other person knowing – the BEST way to do it

THERE’S a clever way to read Instagram DMs without the other person knowing.

Several methods can do this – but one using an Instagram safety feature is by far the most effective.

You can Restrict people to read DMs without them knowingThe Sun / Instagram

Normally when someone sends a DM and you read it, they’ll be alert.

You can switch this off, but that would affect all of your contacts – and so isn’t ideal.

And it would also mean you can’t see when people have read your messages.

However, you can get around this using Instagram’s fairly new Restrict feature – which lets you read DMs without triggering the ‘Seen’ icon.

“They won’t be able to see when you’re online, or if you’ve read their messages,” Instagram explains.

Of course, you’ll have to put up with a few other changes relating to Restrict.


For a start, the person’s new comments on your posts will only be visible to that person.

You can choose to see the comment by tapping See Comment.

And if you want others to be able to see their comment, you can tap Approve.

Alternatively, you can just delete it or ignore it.

You also won’t receive any notifications for future comments from the Restricted person.

That’s because this feature is designed to tackle bullying or harassment. However, it’s also useful for Instagram sleuths who want to read messages in stealth mode.

How to Restrict someone on Instagram

To Restrict someone through DMs, tap the DM icon and enter the chat with the person you want to restrict.

Then tap the “i” icon in the top right of the chat, and tap Restrict > Restrict Account.

You can also Restrict someone through a comment on your post.

Find their comment and swipe left over it (iPhone) or tap and hold it (Android).

Then tap the “!” symbol and press Restrict > Restrict Account.

Alternatively, you can Restrict people through Settings.

Go to your profile and tap the icon that looks like three stacked lines.

Then tap Settings, then Privacy, and then Restricted Accounts.

Tap Continue and then search for the account that you’d like to Restrict.

Next, simply tap Restrict next to their username and the setting will be a activated.

The final way to Restrict someone is to do it through their profile.

Find their profile then tap the icon that looks like three dots (horizontally on iPhone or vertically on Android) in the top right.

Then simply tap Restrict > Restrict Account.

It’s worth noting that the Restrict feature was only added to Instagram very recently.

So if you can’t see it, make sure you’ve updated your Instagram app to the latest version on the App Store or Google Play Store.

The update isn’t brand new any more, so it’s unlikely that you’re running a version of Instagram without it.

Read all the latest Phones & Gadgets newsKeep up-to-date on Apple storiesGet the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

How to get your deleted Instagram photos back
How can I change my Facebook password?
How can I do a duet on TikTok?
Here’s how to use your iPhone’s Apple logo as a BUTTON
How can I change my Amazon Alexa voice in seconds?
What is dating app Bumble?
How can I increase my Snapchat score?
How can I test my broadband internet speed?
Here’s how to find your Sky TV remote in SECONDS

In other news, check out the new Lamborghini Huracan Evo that can clean your house and cook you dinner.

Check out the wildly impressive Panasonic 65HZ1000 TV, which makes most tellies look rubbish.

Read our complete guide to Call of Duty 2021.

And Dell’s Alienware R10 Ryzen Edition is a gaming PC powerhouse that crushes both the new consoles.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk