WATCH: Taylor Gray Wins ARCA Series Race After Leaders Pick Up Penalties

Earlier this weekend, the ARCA Menards Series West visited the Portland International Raceway. Taylor Gray clinched the win in bizarre fashion after two drivers ahead of him got penalized. Apparently, Jake Drew and Eric Nascimento led the pack during the final restart, but Gray piled on the pressure.

Then, at Turn 2, Drew and Nascimento skipped the corner and gained an advantage. Meanwhile, Cole Moore also skipped the corner while chaos unfolded around the first three corners. Since it was the final lap, the gloves were off and the racing was ruthless. In the end, Taylor Gray stormed to his second career ARCA Series West triumph.

Um … WOW@TaylorGray17_ is credited with the win after ARCA officials rule both Jake Drew and Eric Nascimento missed a corner on the last-lap restart @Portland_GP | @_TrackPass

— ARCA Menards Series (@ARCA_Racing) September 12, 2021

The best part was that he came from behind to win the race, though he inherited it after the penalty. Without the penalty, Drew would have been the victor, ahead of Nascimento and Gray.

How did the race pan out for Taylor Gray?

It is worth mentioning that Jake Drew was under the impression that he won, so he stayed on the start-finish line. Later on, the call came from the officials, confirming that Taylor Gray snatched the second win of his career. Meanwhile, the penalized drivers dropped all the way down to 10th and 11th, respectively.

Nov 7, 2020; Avondale, AZ, USA; NASCAR ARCA Series driver David Gilliland celebrates with a burnout after winning the Arizona Lottery 100 at Phoenix Raceway. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

This promoted, P. J. Pedroncelli, Jesse Love, Joey Iest, and Takuma Koga into the Top 5. Tim Spurgeon, Trevor Huddleston, Stafford Smith, Paul Pedroncelli, and Drew completed the Top 10. It was a disappointing day in the office for Jake Drew because he had a chance to overtake championship leader, Jesse Love, who is 19 points ahead of the former.

Up until now, Love, Iest, and Gray are the only ones in the Top 15 with a win under their belt. Other race winners are Ty Gibbs and Chase Briscoe in one-off appearances.

READ MORE: Taylor Gray to Finally Make His Truck Debut After Accident Delayed His Maiden Run

The post WATCH: Taylor Gray Wins ARCA Series Race After Leaders Pick Up Penalties appeared first on EssentiallySports.