Millions of iPhone owners warned that strangers could see your EXACT location

IF you send a photo to someone or put it online, you should be weary of the ‘meta data’ that you’re giving away.

A popular TikTok video has revealed the risks behind geotagging on photos and when and when not to worry about it.

TikTok / @cathypedrayesThis TikToker has spread a warning about meta data[/caption]

TikToker @cathypedrayes shared the viral video with her 2.1million followers.

It starts with her revealing a fan’s question, which asks: “Can you do a video about meta data please?”

Meta data is data that describes information about other data.

For example, every photo you take on your iPhone or camera has meta data attached to it.

This includes location, the time you took it and the specifications of the photo.


TikToker @cathypedrayes explains: “When it becomes a safety issue, is when the camera, which could be your phone, has geotagging enabled.

“In which case, it should look like this.”

The TikToker than displays a screenshot containing meta data that has a map.

She continues: “If you’re just posting photos on social media like Instagram, you don’t have to worry about it, they remove that information anyways.

“But if you’re texting or emailing photos with a stranger, like say you’re selling something or if you’re uploading it to websites that aren’t so secure or apps that aren’t secure like Parlour, which actually got hacked and then all that information was leaked.

“That’s when it becomes risky.”

The TikToker’s solution is to use screenshots of images in situations that leave you worried about exposing your data.

She also notes that you could try and find out geotagged location from an image if someone is sending you unwanted messages.

This could help to locate the perpetrator.

The TikTok video currently has almost 30,000 likes.

TikTok / @cathypedrayesIt is possible for people to find out the geotagged location on your photos[/caption]

In other news, iPhone owners are being urged to change their settings in order to protect their texts from snoopers.

Google has officially released a new privacy feature that could erase important photos forever.

And, we rounded up 13 common toaster mistakes.

We pay for your stories!

Do you have a story for The US Sun team?

Email us at exclusive@the-sun.com or call 212 416 4552.

Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TheSunUS and follow us from our main Twitter account at @TheSunUS